3047106f0b7375e9d9a181820e3c34af.446x446x1

So, as I’m sure many of you have heard, Chris Cornell of Soundgarden passed away last night. Now, I will be the first to admit that when anyone in the rock industry dies, I am usually the first to say “doesn’t surprise me”. As shitty as that may sound, it comes with the territory. As an example, when I heard that they found Lane Staley of Alice in Chains dead from a overdose, those were my exact words- doesn’t surprise me. And I LOVED Alice in Chains. I just don’t typically have sympathy for people who choose to take a life of destruction with drugs. It’s just how I am.

The only rockstar I EVER had a hard time with their death was Dimebag Darrel of Pantera. The dude was absolutely amazing on the guitar and a huge influence on my own playing style back in my days of music. But at that time, it wasn’t that I had just lost a musical influence, it was the way he went. Now, Dime lived a life of excess like so many rockstars. I couldn’t tell you if he had any type of drug problem, but we all knew he drank like a fish. But this wasn’t what killed him. It was a mentally unstable man with a issue that Pantera was no more. It was so sad and I still love to listen to Dime’s work very much.

So, back to Chris Cornell. Now I will never have claimed to be a huge Soundgarden fan, but I can say without doubt that Chris Cornell had one of the greatest voices to ever bless our lives during this era in rock. Every time I heard that man sing, I was just floored at just how good he was. I remember the first concert I ever went to when I was 12 years old, Soundgarden opened up. I’ll never forget hearing Chris saying “we have a new album coming out here real soon called Bad Motor Finger and this is the single that will be released from that album” and they went right into Outshined. I loved it. It had a sound like I hadn’t heard before. Man they were so good live. And Chris’ voice just continued to IMPROVE over the years to the point of near perfection. Quite the opposite for many rockers.

I think the reason why this one is really getting me thinking is it is putting a date on me. I’m getting old. I know I have some good years left, but I can’t help but feel like everything I loved in my younger years is just fading away, and the death of Chris is just another reminder.

Rock on, wherever you may be Chris. You’ll be missed by many.

Leave a Reply

