81BczWwiszL

So I will be starting up an actual play of Pathfinders Rise of the Runelords that will be live streamed over the twitch channel and then released on YouTube and podcast. There are some of you that may know of my old rants from a previous podcast I did about 3.x systems. Now, I know I’ve said it on the show, and maybe even in one of these post before, but I have put on my big boy underwear and figured out that each system out there does it’s own thing it’s own way. It just comes down to a matter of preference. Just because I may not like something doesn’t mean it’s “wrong”. It just means that it’s not for me.

So the idea of running this Adventure Path came to me for a couple of reasons. After I had Stephen Radney-Macfarland on the show, I started to look into the Pathfinder system. I had never looked into the system before and just writing it off as another 3.x system. Well, since I’ve picked up the books and started looking them over, I really like what Paizo did to streamline the system. I just hope it comes across that way during game play.

I also wanted to try out this Adventure Path because I have heard for a long time now that it is the pinnacle of Paizo’s adventures. I’ve heard nothing but good things about it and this really intrigued me to give it a shot. I’ve had a couple of people tell me “trust me man, convert it and run it in 5e”. While that might work for some, I have everything I need on Fantasy Grounds (FG). The work is already all done and by using FG, the combat time drops dramatically since all the numbers are automated.

One of the biggest things I am looking forward to with this campaign is the seriousness that we have all decided to apply to the campaign. Don’t get me wrong, jokes, laughing, drinking and being vulgar are all super fun. But, having a deep, immersive RPG experience is something I’ve been craving for some time now. I can’t wait to get myself so invested in the story that even I as the GM can’t wait to see what happens. Or get those goosebumps because someone is so invested in their character that doing certain actions in-game actions become very difficult choices for them to make….. THAT’S a RPG experience to me.

So character creations is tonight for a couple of the players and over the weekend for the other 2. We are going to start with book 1- Burnt Offerings and see how it goes. Hopefully by the end of that module, everyone will be quite invested and ready to continue. Time will tell.

Here’s to a new adventure! *cheers*

Leave a Reply

