No+use+you+sir+are+a+lost+cause+_44af35ccc4a8e50c3af76a3de852fea6

Ok, so I have been dormant for a while over here, but I’ve been a pretty damn busy guy. So, I’ve been thinking a lot about RPG’s, and the industry. While I do not claim to be an expert by any means, there is one thing I know about MANY professional RPG writers- they still have to have day jobs!

I know I’m not delivering any new news to anyone here, but it just bugs me. It doesn’t bug me because I think “I shouldn’t have to work my shitty day job. I want to write RPG’s and other games for a living. Blah, blah, blah, insert crying”. While this would be nothing less than awesome, I know it’s merely a pipe dream. Now, I don’t know about all of you, but I’m 40 years old and still have dreams of doing something better with my life besides the job I work now. But, that’s not the point of today’s rant.

So, my question is ‘what does it take’? Seriously, what does it take for someone to actually make a living and a good life out of doing this? I know we are a small group of people in the big picture, but it seems like there should just be more for the folks that do this stuff. I mean, if a tool like Kim Kardashian can make a ridiculous living by doing NOTHING, but makers of games are ACTUALLY doing something that gives back to people and there’s actually an end game product, something is wrong here.

Again, I don’t speak for myself here at all. It just sucks to know that that’s where we are at. Rich and famous for nothing, and “just getting by” by making people incredibly happy. It truly does suck.

Not the most incredibly thought out post, but I wanted to get it out there before the thoughts left my head. What do you all think about this subject?

One thought on “An Industry of No Hope?

  1. There are a variety of reasons but if you want to make money making tabletop games, RPGs are not the part of the hobby to do it (board games represent something like 890 million of the 1 billion hobby industry). I’ve been freelancing for four years now and even then, it’s not feasible to start out with just design and writing. That’s not going to become doable for many years (until you’ve got market recognition or a backlog of products that trickle into a stable income stream). Moreover, the pay for pretty much everything other than design and writing (which until you are an established name pays the same as it did a century ago) is better although still even then, not great–to keep up you need to produce a massive amount of artwork (Jacob Blackmon is a great example). After you get all the rest of the skills down (cartography, layout, graphic design) it becomes a little more bearable, but not everybody can handle spinning a bunch of plates while still keeping them all in proper rotation.
    It’s all good. Soon the robots will be making our games for us. The robots will do everything for us. Before the reckoning anyway. #machinewar

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

