steveyoungmain

So, about 8 months ago, I woke up one morning and had this great dice mechanic in my mind that would apply to an American football game (not that soccer crap where they run around for an hour and a half and don’t score!) and I managed to create the whole game, cards and all, in about 4 hours. It’s been play tested a handful of times with great feedback and it’s a total blast to play. It’s very much so a pretzels and beer kind of game where you and a buddy can get together, roll some dice, drink, and have a awesome game of football.

Now, I have had this thing on the back burner ever since, banging my head against the wall trying to figure out where to start to get a prototype made so I can Kickstart this thing. But then I realized that I really don’t think Kickstarter is the way to go for this. It all reality, there’s not a ton of depth to the game, and that’s exactly how I want to keep it. Sure, real football buffs could add a whole lot more to it, but that’s not what I’m out for. I was out to make a game that can be played in 15 minutes, or 2 hours. And that’s what this game will deliver.

I thought about how there could be a line of minis, expansions with different teams with different strengths and weaknesses. But in the end, that’s just too much. For now, anyhow. So, what I have decided to do is just put this out there as a “Pay What You Want” model on Drivethru. I think it will be a great way to get a very fun game out there to folks and they don’t have to gamble on a first timer via Kickstarter.

Currently, I am shopping around to find someone to commission some black and white art for the playing cards and then it’s off to figure out all the legal stuff- like licensing, copyright and all that good stuff. So, once that’s all said and done, I will be sure to put it out there that it’s been released and folks can start enjoying it. If there’s one thing I’ve learned about gamers with the “Pay What You Want” model, they will download a crapton of these! Also, there will be a handful of folks that will actually pay for it because they want to see it grow and will help spread the word.

I look forward to finalizing the details and getting this one released!

Leave a Reply

